Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
You own proprietary format with Unity !? It will be very difficult.
Example : Ubisoft games using Unity don't modify the default format, otherwise he would have made an custom format.
You must have Unity Pro to do that, because you will have to modify Unity source code.
Posts: 1
Threads: 0
Joined: Feb 2016
Ok dude
you win! I won't insult you or your game anymore!
Posts: 1,053
Threads: 36
Joined: Nov 2014
All righty then. Thanks, iyenal. Looks like I'll be staying with common formats.
So, I whipped up a sound test / debugging menu for fixing audio playback issues (mainly my songs won't loop / enter the looping clip) They're 2 spliced OGG files designed to play one right after the other (intro -> loop -> no more playback handling till stopped)
Once this works, I'll immediately get back to animations, fighter code and I'll whip up a few more models, this time for stages. I want to make some original stuff for the game besides my original songs and some enemies. Oh yeah, and the UI whose graphics I designed.
This dev process is so exciting I can't seem to stay on one aspect and focus. lmao/
I'm an opera-crossover singer undergoing classical voice training and I'm also making Super Smash Bros. Feud.
Discord: kold_virus
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
If you will loop 2 sounds one right after the other compose it with Audacity, so it will economise a script, memory, so CPU and GPU (DX sound) charge will be reduced.
I recommend you to start to optimize your game from now.
Posts: 1,053
Threads: 36
Joined: Nov 2014
Well, I tried the Audacity thing. My audio is in OGG format with loop points, and Unity doesn't support native loop points. I had no choice. And I'm not about to pay 20$ for a plugin. XP
I'm about to test out slopes on my test stage.
I'm an opera-crossover singer undergoing classical voice training and I'm also making Super Smash Bros. Feud.
Discord: kold_virus
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
What's the plugin. Try searching in the unity forums.
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
Do you plan to port it to Android ? I can help you for port it (touch controls,optimization...).
If you want assets from assetstore tell me I have many.
Posts: 1,053
Threads: 36
Joined: Nov 2014
Feud is strictly a Windows build. It supports Windows-only XInput, after all. If you have some drivers or whatnot I don't know about, it could also be theoretically buildable for Linux and Mac.
My match HUD is almost done. I now made it able to change colour depending on whether a fighter is Human or CPU (Red for P1, Blue for P2, etc) for any fighter in the match. I can change damage % values and names, and am now working on the ability to change character "cosmetics" (character selection and battle portraits).
Once I get all this display stuff to work and not keep throwing errors (so far we're great on that front), it'll be time to start scripting the playability of each character (I'm currently at 4 in this project, one for each player, Feud, true to the real thing up to Brawl, supports up to 4). I'll also start to make the character selection screen soon so I can enter matches with variable fighters.
I'm an opera-crossover singer undergoing classical voice training and I'm also making Super Smash Bros. Feud.
Discord: kold_virus
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
Do you plan to publish a beta ?
Posts: 1,053
Threads: 36
Joined: Nov 2014
Yes. But it'll be quite a while. I will make a proper reveal trailer long before.
Working on the selection screen right now. Once I have it somewhat working, more character animations and functionality.
I'm an opera-crossover singer undergoing classical voice training and I'm also making Super Smash Bros. Feud.
Discord: kold_virus
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
03-09-2016, 01:01 PM
(This post was last modified: 03-09-2016, 01:02 PM by iyenal.)
You will take the demo level ? because if you work on selection screen already,it means you have an functionnal level ?
Posts: 1,053
Threads: 36
Joined: Nov 2014
Well, not exactly. I have this bad habit of working on one thing then switching to another. ahah...
My stage still needs ledges and moving platforms, and better wall collision detection. Right now it can play music and has basic floor collisions including slopes. I plan to make, this week, simple movement stuff (with or without walking/running animations, maybe just adding a force on the Z axis) to test terrain angles and the like. I'm also working on my first item, and I have it able to bounce a bit when landing, and sliding off slopes as well as stopping when touching a character.
I'm an opera-crossover singer undergoing classical voice training and I'm also making Super Smash Bros. Feud.
Discord: kold_virus
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
Do you use mesh collider or primitives ?
Posts: 1,053
Threads: 36
Joined: Nov 2014
Primitives. VERY seldom do I use Mesh Colliders. Except on the test stage's main platform.
I'm an opera-crossover singer undergoing classical voice training and I'm also making Super Smash Bros. Feud.
Discord: kold_virus
Posts: 630
Threads: 15
Joined: May 2015
You can bake mesh colliders.
The players use rigidbody physX or character controller ?